The Constant Innovator


How to get your resume off Naukri.com?
April 27, 2008, 11:13 am
Filed under: BadDesign | Tags: , , , ,

Not very surprisingly, but very unhelpfully, most sites make it extremely hard for you to unsubscribe or opt-out of their mailing lists. I had an old email account listed on Naukri and I occasionally get stupid notifications that “Your CV has been short-listed”… Ridiculous, if you consider that I have not even completed the profile properly.

So anyway, I tried looking at the email itself to see if there was a link that would let me opt out Naukri’s mailing list right away, but no no – not a chance. So, whats the way out? The email helpfully said at the end:

“If you consider the content of this email inappropriate or spam, you may:
1. Report abuse by forwarding this email to : abuse@naukri.com

2. Block this company – IndiaMART InterMESH Ltd (ref no: 18735) from accessing your resume by logging into your naukri account and selecting Block Company in the Privacy Settings section

Well, neither of those links used any special codes to recognize my account, so I *had* to login in order to opt out…

So, I logged in, and then looked around for a way out.

Nothing. Not even a way to disable my profile (or deactivate it).

Finally had to write an email to Customer Help (location of online form is on top-right corner).

Report a Problem

Lets see if its effective.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Is it effective ? is your problem get solved.

Comment by Nikhil

We can deactivate profile on naukri.
After Login -> my naukri -> confedentiality setting -> profile visibility

Here you can set your profile active / inactive / not searchable.

Comment by Nikhil Sidhaye

thank you nikhil…..

Comment by rajmul

Hi Nikhil,

Do you work for Naukri? Please clarify. In any case, I outsmarted the system by changing my email to a dummy address – that was the only way I could stop the deluge of irrelevant emails I was receiving.

I’ve not used the site after that, so I do not know if their processes have improved. In any case, the method you recommend (of “deactivating”) does not REMOVE your details from the site, merely make them “inaccessible” in a manner best known to Naukri themselves… you’ll still be subject to their random spamming whenever they feel like it.

Comment by theconstantinnovator

please off the mails to my email site

Comment by shweta singh

block the mails

Comment by shweta singh

Hi Shweta,

Naukri is notoriously horrible in this regard. I’m sure the others aren’t too different. I would suggest you login into your account and change your correct email address to something invalid. Save the settings and exit. Enjoy the spam free experience!

Regards!

Comment by theconstantinnovator

Click on the delete account link in the registration mail that you received when you first signed up on naukri.com. It worked for me.

Comment by Sid

Let me know how that works out for you…

Comment by theconstantinnovator

Hey all, I dont understand if you are missing out on something obvious…to be able to make your profile “inactive”, there’s a pretty straight way of doing it….once you login to Naukri…just go to “MyNaukri”->”Confidentiality settings”->”Profile Visibility”…in here, you can choose from among 3 options..these are self-explanatory once on that page..check it out…

Comment by Bharath

I want to stop your service (unsubscribed) know. How to stop it

Comment by Taj

Hi Taj – you can have a look at some of the comments above and see what people have recommended. When I tried EVERYTHING and it didn’t work – I had to resort to changing my email address to an invalid one and I wasn’t bothered by them anymore. You’re welcome to see if that still works.

Comment by theconstantinnovator




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

